Lucie Foundation

The Lucie Awards is the annual gala ceremony honoring the greatest achievements in photography. The photography community from countries around the globe will pay tribute to the most outstanding photography achievements presented at the Gala Awards ceremony. Each year, the Advisory Board nominates deserving individuals across a variety of categories who will be honored during the Lucie Awards ceremony. Once the nominations have been received, the votes are tallied and an honoree in each category is identified. The honorees are pre-announced months before the Lucie Awards.

The following awards are given during the Lucie Awards:

Lifetime Achievement (an individual who has dedicated his/her entire life to the photographic craft).

Humanitarian (an individual whose works in the photographic field has advanced the well-being of humanity, and/or provided substantial awareness and assistance to causes and communities).

Visionary (an individual who has made a unique contribution to photography and the preservation of the art form either through education or the creation of a viable photography-related platform or institution).

Spotlight (an individual, organization or corporation whose endeavors have significantly changed the landscape of photography).

Double Exposure (an individual who has achieved critical success spanning two distinct creative arenas).

Outstanding Achievement Awards are given to individuals who have made a significant contribution in the following areas:

Fine Art

The work of these masters will be presented at the gala ceremony.

Support Category Awards are also given to individuals and organizations who are an integral part of crafting an image. These nominees are submitted by the public and voted on by the Photography Advisory Board. The six awards are:

Print Advertising Campaign of the Year
- Awarded to Photographers
Fashion Layout of the Year -
Awarded to Magazine
Curator/Exhibition of the Year
- Awarded to Curators
Book Publisher of the Year -
Awarded to Book Publishers
Picture Editor of the Year -
Awarded to Picture Editors
Photography Magazine of the Year
- Awarded to Magazine

International Photography Awards competition winners

The top four winners of the IPA competition are announced during the Lucie Awards. Those top three awards are:

International Photographer of the Year awarded to a professional photographer.
Discovery of the Year awarded to a non-professional, amateur or student photographer.
Deeper Perspective Photographer of the Year awarded to either a professional or non-professional photographer. This award is given to the photographer whose story behind the images are as compelling as the images themselves.
Moving Image Photographer of the Year awarded to either a professional or non-professional photographer for a moving image, film submission.

For more information about IPA, please click here.

The Lucie Statue

The statue was influenced by two photographers, Frantisek Drtikol and E. O. Hoppe. "Lucie" is the sculptural form inspired by the synthesis of two famous photographic images from the first half of the twentieth century. Taken from the Latin word, "lux" for "light", Lucie is a tribute to the influence that light plays in photography.


The Lucie statue was created by Studio 1030 in 2001 from the idea by Graham Howe. The Lucie Awards committee chose "Lucie" from a list of over 500 names. The name "Lucie" was provided by Co-Chairperson Susan Baraz. Michelle Burstin programmed and produced the 1st Lucie Awards in Los Angeles (2003).

The Lucie Foundation is a 501(c) 3 non-profit, charitable foundation whose mission is to honor master photographers, discover and cultivate emerging talent and celebrate the appreciation of photography worldwide.
550 N. Larchmont Boulevard, Suite 100 Los Angeles, California 90004 U.S.A Tel: (310) 659-0122